ArenaBowl XXI

The Arena Football season ended yesterday with the San Jose SaberCats defeating the Columbus Destroyers in New Orleans. The SaberCats last lost on April 13 when they lost to Voo Doo in New Orleans. They then won 10 straight to finish the season 13 and 3 and then won 3 straight playoff games to capture the 2007 Arena Bowl.

The Destroyers were called a Cinderella team all afternoon. They qualified by defeating the New York Dragons on June 23. Qualifying 6th in the National Conference they traveled first to Tampa Bay and defeated the Storm by one point. The following week they visited Dallas and defeated the heavily favored Desperadoes, in part because they recovered 2 consecutive kicks deep in Dallas territory when the ball took a favorable bounce off the nets. Finally they reached the arena bowl by again defeating a heavily favored opponent when they visited Georgia. For quarterback Matt Nagy it was especially sweet to eliminate the team the traded him away after he lead the Force deep into the playoffs and set several season records for the team last year.

The Destroyers kept the game close but were chasing the SaberCats for almost the entire game. San Jose had several defensive stops and the Destroyers were not able to match the SaberCats defensive pressure. San Jose seemed to score every time they had the ball and the San Jose defense forced mistakes from Nagy and the Destroyers.

Watching the game on TV was a treat after watching many of the games online. I love AFLNet but watching the game on the 40 inch wide screen vs the 17 inch PC screen is a big difference. I did lose interest at times as the Destroyers seemed to be destined to lose from the second quarter on. The Destroyers didn't seem to be able to match San Jose and slowly the SaberCats took control of the game.

I can't wait until next year. I plan to renew my AFLNet subscription next year but I am also going to look at getting access to more TV feeds for the games.

No comments:

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Canada License.